Kris Martin | Project Superintendent

IMG 9431Born on the northwest side of Chicago, my father owned a successful commercial & residential construction business.  Coming from a long line of Norwegian carpenters, for as long as I can remember it was assumed that my younger brothers and I would enter the family business.  I remember us all listening to my father speak about the ins and outs of the construction business across the family dinner table.  My father was a natural at setting and meeting clients expectations and shadowing him I was given the unique opportunity to observe how clients, subcontractors, and vendors conducted themselves and worked together to find solutions to problems.  
 
When I was 13 the family moved to the Northwest suburbs to focus on the residential side of the business.  Following graduation from Stevenson high school, I went right into the trades, starting as an apprentice and laborer for 3 years.  I also gained useful experience working outside the family company as a carpenter for before returning to the family firm as a superintendent for 10 years. 
 
In 2006, I was looking for a change and started my own home inspection business and for almost 10 years I performed residential home inspection services throughout Chicagoland.  I enjoyed working directly with homeowners, the freedom of being my own boss, and doing all the little things that it takes to become a successful entrepreneur. 

After 10 years in the home inspection business, I began to feel unchallenged and wanted to get back to what I enjoyed the most.  Seeing a project from beginning through completion is a unique reward that is hard to describe.  Being able to take a step back and see what has been created is a special feeling.  Over my 25+ years of experience in the construction business, I have learned a lot from my mistakes and those of others, but I never tire from finding solutions to problems and ensuring that I meet and exceed expectations.

I currently reside in Grayslake and have 4 young children who are 18, 16, and twelve-year old twins.  When I’m not working on projects around the house I enjoy golfing in the summer and snowmobiling in the winter.